## **CITY OF LYONS**

CITY COUNCIL:

LARRY L. GRIGGERS Ward 1
BENJAMIN MITCHELL Ward 2
IVY TOOLE, JR. Ward 3
JOHN MOORE JR. Ward 4
RICK HARTLEY Ward 5

## WILLIS D. NESMITH Jr, Mayor

161 NE Broad Street Telephone (912) 526-3626 Fax (912) 526-0607 LYONS, GEORGIA 30436 LYNN ROWLAND
City Clerk
TOM A. PETERSON, IV
City Attorney
BENJAMIN MITCHELL
Mayor Pro-Tem
JASON HALL
City Manager

## **Press Release**

June 19, 2020

The Mayor and all members of the Council of the City of Lyons are happy to announce the result of the special election held on June 9, 2020 to fill the vacancy seat on the Council, representing Ward 2, now that the final vote count has been certified.

Mrs. Sonja Eason has been elected to represent Ward 2 and serve out the unexpired term of Councilman Ben Mitchell, who passed away on December 5, 2019.

The Mayor and Council congratulate Mrs. Eason on her election victory and look forward to serving with her as soon as she is duly sworn. Her swearing in ceremony will occur at 6:00 PM on July 7, 2020 at the Lyons City Hall on 161 NE Broad Street and the public is invited to attend.